Brief facts on Valentines day/Weekly Writing challenge

Valentines day this year will be a little sad, and not because I don’t have the special someone to celebrate with (and I don’t and I also don’t care about that), but because this month is, well its sad. My friends dad passed away last year and Valentine’s Day was his parent’s anniversary (His mom is also a very special person in my life)… This month is also the anniversary of my sister’s passing…

So because I can remember Tich playing his ukulele at our church’s love feast’s (how we generally celebrate Valentine’s day) and sometimes reading us facts about valentine’s day I thought In honor of him I would dedicate this post to him.

Tich you use to scare me so much when I was little, but you did win me over in the end. Thanks for the driving tips and all the joke’s (even if they were at my expense at times) Thank you for that hug and that talk when I lost my sister, I hope your spending some time with her up there. I miss you both, and don’t worry we’re taking good care of your family down here…

1)  Roman Emperor Claudius II, wanting to strengthen his army, would not let young men marry. Valentine, (St. Valentine) defied this and performed marriages in secret. When he was caught Valentine was executed in 270 A.D on February 14.

2) In the middle ages people in France and England believed bird mating season started February 14th. The poet Geoffrey Chauser wrote a poem called “The Parliament of Fowls,” a line being”For this was on Saint Valentine’s Day, when every bird cometh there to choose his mate.” This was possibly the first time romantic love was associated with Valentine’s Day in writing, this was in 1329 .

3) In 1415, Charles, Duke of Orleans, Wrote the first known Valentine to his wife in the form of a poem, after he had been captured during the battle of Agincourt, he was imprisoned in the Tower of London.

4) A tradition in the Middle Ages, was for men and women to draw names from a bowl and see who their valentines would be. They then would wear the name they picked  on their sleeves for one week.

5)  In the 1800s doctors would prescribe patients chocolate to cure the pangs of lost love.

and because its a great quote…

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

1 Corinthians 13:13

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/writing-challenge-valentine/

15 thoughts on “Brief facts on Valentines day/Weekly Writing challenge

  1. Pingback: Last Minute Expressions of Love | Moments for the journey

  2. Pingback: Ghost Forest | litadoolan

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: My Funny Valentine? | imagination

  4. Pingback: A Journey of Ten Years | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Valentine Memories | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  6. Pingback: “Be Mine” writing-challenge-valentine #poetry #valentine’sday | Moondustwriter's Blog

  7. Pingback: “Pencilgate”: My Funny Valentine | Pinstripes&Lipgloss

  8. Pingback: The 14th of February 1951 – Blacksburg, Virginia | Forgotten Correspondance

  9. Pingback: The 18th of February 1945 – Bastogne, Belgium | Forgotten Correspondance

  10. Pingback: Cleaning Up On Valentines | The Chatter Blog

  11. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – My Funny Valentine | Joe's Musings

  12. Pingback: Humans Are So Different on Valentine’s Day [HUMOUROUS LETTER] | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

