The Fall of Pride

This is the next one in the short stories my friend and I did together (we’re going to have to come up with a title for them all), the last two are linked below, visit my fiction for more, and writers corner on Carlee’s blog for even more (link to her blog also below). Hope you enjoy, this one turned into kind of a love story, something I’ve never written before (and I’m likely never to do again… or at least a long while) so I hope its alright.

Wisdom and Pride walked hand in hand as they often did. Wisdom knew it was not right to be with her, but Pride had always been able to convince him otherwise. Not that he minded, after all he was in love with her, perhaps more in love with her than she was with him. He was also the only one who knew how to cope with Pride, how to be around her. Others, even her own kind couldn’t stand her, she only talked about herself.

“You should have seen him thinking he was so great,” Pride was telling him about a more recent “victim”, “Then he mucked it up, you would have loved the look on his face!” She continued on not caring that he wouldn’t have loved it very much at all. “He should never of dealt with me, but then again who can resist me? The poor sucker should have listened to his mother, “Pride comes before the fall” she told him, wise woman you must of visited her.” Pride continued to babble on. Wisdom thought of the mother, he had been to visit her, and he knew how she cherished and hoped for her only son. Wisdom had been to the son also, encouraging him, teaching him.

“Pride, can I ask you something?” Questioned Wisdom .

“Of course darling,” She answered fiddling with her human form’s dark hair, “anything.”

“Have you…” he was having trouble finding the right words.

“Come on, spit it out, I have so much more to tell you.”

“Have you been following me?” He asked, his face growing warm, Pride giggled.

“You invited me for a walk remember?”

“No, what I mean is, are you corrupting my customers?” Pride dropped his hand, her features grew tight and suddenly she didn’t look so pretty anymore. Wisdom had always been able to see that at the core of all Pride’s pretty layers was a rotting, dark, mass.

“How could you ask me that?” She snapped taking on the form of a swirling mist growing bigger, and bigger. Wisdom knew then she was lying.

“Pride,” he said, “if you act not only as my counterpart, but my enemy, we can no longer be together.” Pride quickly shrunk and took back her human structure, tears welled in her eyes, she must play her part well.

“How can you say that? I love you.” she threw herself on the ground, as if she was grieving, rubbing ashes into her hair. Wisdom again forgot who he was.

“Please don’t cry, I hate it when you cry.”

“I am sorry, it’s just when I think of how powerful you are, how strong, it scares me.” Pride crooned, filling him.

“I am the one who is sorry,” Wisdom knelt down taking her in his arms missing the small victorious smile on her face.

“It’s alright, I’m alright,” she pulled back from his embrace putting a hand on his cheek, “now my sweet, go do your job, I will see you later.” Wisdom nodded still in Pride’s hold.

“Yes I’ll see you later,” He kissed her, Pride disappeared letting him go. Wisdom stayed on the ground a moment more, holding his head in his hands “I am a fool,” he said and went to work, the rules must be obeyed.
~
“Well played, the way you twist him,” Beauty said shaking her head in feigned disbelief, having watched the whole thing.

“What do you want Decus?” Pride snapped clearly put out, she had been in the middle of collecting vials from a princess when Beauty appeared.

“I don’t go by that name anymore.”

“Who are you this decade?” Pride mocked, crossing a dangerous line, Beauty was much more powerful than Pride.

“It is not what I want little sister, its what our dear Father wants”

“Temptation,” Pride now gave Beauty her full attention.

“Yes Temptation, surly you’ve heard?” When Pride did not respond Beauty carried on, “Praiseworthy, she’s taken on another name.”

“Not Laudabile again” Pride said glancing at her fingernails. Beauty angered, she’d been feeling his presence a lot lately.

“Laudabile is her weakest name, no, she is…” Beauty swallowed back a gag she hated saying it, and the power behind it, “Fear of the Lord.” The earth trembled, but Pride’s expression did not falter, she was to prideful for that.

“What do you want me to do about it?”

“Its time form an alliance, temporarily of course, its time to take back whats ours,”

“And if I do this what must I give?” Pride asked wisely.

“You must give up whatever holds you back from being entirely corruptive.” Pride’s thoughts drifted to Wisdom.

“And if I don’t?”

“Your either with us or against us.” Beauty snarled, as much as she could with out ruining her looks.

“I’d have to give him up?”

“Yes, your precious love, come now surly you don’t have any real feelings for him.” Pride looked away.

“Don’t tell me you’ve been consorting with Love! I thought you where above that.”

“I just need some time.”

“Time is not a luxury,” answered Beauty. Pride had always known Wisdom was her counterpart, but not her true counterpart, not something she had to fight against with every fiber of her being, that was Humility and he had long since disappeared. It was because of Wisdom’d understanding, and the fact he was the only one to ever care about her, to ever love her, that she let herself feel for him.

“I can’t do it, I’m sorry sister.” Pride bowed her head, something she had never done before. Pride became weaker, Beauty smirked.

“My, my, would you look at that, your changing.” Pride looked at herself, her core was becoming whole. “I think, my dear sister, your becoming replaceable,” sneered Beauty, “I think that means you can die!” Beauty acted on her hunch, in one fluid, graceful movement she pierced Pride’s heart with a small jade dagger. Pride crumpled, she lay on her back gazing at the sky. Something like blood, but silver came from the wound in her chest, and spread. Somewhere on the other side of the world Wisdom felt like his own heart had been ripped out, he began to run, they could not fade until their job was done.

Death was at Pride’s side first, he looked to Beauty, “These are strange times” he said. Never before had one of them died, Fear had come close being eaten by Evil, but even he existed still. Beauty smiled, “yes these are strange times.” She faded out, off to find more siblings to recruit, leaving Death to his duty.

Pride gasped, her body burned, Wisdom was almost there. Death knelt down beside her and took her hand. “Shhh my child, Death is only a new beginning.”

“One…of…us…has never…died,” she gasped growing weaker.

“No they haven’t, but I’ve had to take life this way before,”

“what way?”

“Your dying to self.”

“To w..what?” Death, who did not smile very often, did. As he stood up and turned to leave Pride called out to him, “where are you going?”

“I have more work to do,” he answered and left. He had plans of his own to make, and this was a very exciting, new, development.
Pride looked back up to the sky at the Mercy of the Maker. “Oh, I am so sorry my love,” she sighed, and was gone.

When Wisdom arrived he found something he did not expect, something beautiful. “Who are you?” he said to the being who looked like Pride, but didn’t, she was exquisite inside and out.

“I am Humility,” said the one once called Pride, she had become her true counterpart.

Like all great Love stories Wisdom ended this one in a kiss. He and Humility carried on and would let others worry about Temptation’s plans. Today they had each other, and what is more beautiful then Wisdom and Humility working together? What they did not know, though, was someone else had observed all this, and he had a meeting to make, one between him and Evil….

So as a small re-cap Temptation is starting a war, the Lord is coming, Death is planning, Beauty and Charm are rounding up their siblings, Fear is eaten, Evil is conspiring… I think Wisdom and Pride have served their purpose for a while, and it looks like a new character is arriving on the scene… Its getting exciting! p.s tomorrow… sometime I’ll be posting last week’s missing Blogging Jane Austen posts plus one for this week, hopefully I’ll be all caught up 😉

This link is to the one before this (by my friend Carlee)

http://beforeyoucall.wordpress.com/2013/11/21/proverbs-3130-decus-leporum-and-laudabile/

and this one’s the story before that by moi 😀

https://standinginthestorm.wordpress.com/2013/11/21/the-two-fears/

7 thoughts on “The Fall of Pride

  1. Pingback: Before You Call

  2. Pingback: A Taste of Revenge | standinginthestorm

  3. Pingback: The Council of Good | Before You Call

  4. Pingback: Time’s Betrayal | standinginthestorm

  5. Pingback: The Prophesy | Before You Call

  6. Pingback: Death’s Flaw | standinginthestorm

  7. Pingback: Converging | Before You Call

Leave a Reply

